Josh Hull and Trevor Stahl WIN the 2022 Great Race!

July 5, 2022

The Hemmings Motor News Great Race presented by Hagerty Drivers Club is a grueling marathon for the drivers, navigators and of course, the cars. That’s why we came up with the motto “To Finish Is To Win”. Just crossing the finish line after nine days and 2,300 miles is quite a journey, but doing so with such great precision is a whole new level of satisfaction. We’ve developed a purse structure that keeps the competition fierce, with more than $150,000 up for grabs, among the five Great Race divisions. $50,000 of that purse goes to the overall winners, which we call the Grand Champions. Not only does that victory give them $50,000, it also bumps those contestants into the Grand Championship division. This year, the team of Josh Hull and Trevor Stahl stayed in the lead for the majority of the event. As part of the Stahls team, this car and this team has been improving year over year and have finally reached the pinnacle of Great Race competition. The 1932 Ford speedster wears our nation’s colors and it held together very well, despite the demanding conditions of quick stops, hard acceleration and challenging maneuvers. They won with a score of 46.98 seconds, finishing ahead of previous Grand Champions Howard and Doug Sharp, with Jody Knowles and Beth Gentry (also previous Grand Champions) rounding out the Top 3.

There are MANY other awards up for grabs in the Great Race–some are competition related and others are more for fun. Let’s take a look at all of the winners of the divisions, as well as some of the specialty awards.
X-Cup Division Champions: Central Connecticut State University 1961 Dodge Lancer

Rookie Division: Len Treeter and Christof Ley 1960 Chevrolet Impala

Sportsman Division: Christian Lauber and Brandon Gregg 1968 Ford Mustang

Expert Division (and Overall Winners): Josh Hull and Trevor Stahl 1932 Ford

Grand Championship Division: Howard and Doug Sharp 1916 Hudson

X-Cup Scholarship Winners:

Best Dressed: Christopher Tann and Gabrielle Col

Never Say Die Award: Bruno Hecker and Silvia Beese

Best Classic Car: James Boren and Dave Behrens 1931 Packard Phaeton

Best Race Car: Don Racine and Jamie Stiehr 1964 Morris Mini Cooper S

Tag and Marybeth Lewis Best in Show: Forrest Aylor and George Aylor 1955 Buick Roadmaster

Doc Fuson Trucking Award: Jeff and Kylie Hermanson 1939 Ford Pickup

Stage 9 Winners: Jody Knowles and Beth Gentry

Our Best Friend Award: Auburn, Indiana X-Cup

Best Lunch City: Medina, Ohio

Best Overnight City: Warwick, Rhode Island

Richard Fredette Perseverance Award: Team WTF

Tom McRae Spirit of the Event Award: Rachel Simon





Ace Award: Brad and Erin Kaplan

Grand Championship:

5 comments about “Josh Hull and Trevor Stahl WIN the 2022 Great Race!”

  • Congratulations to Christian Lauber and Brandon Gregg on your Sportsman Division win. You guys are really impressive. Thank you for all of your assistance throughout the race!

  • Congratulations to all participants! Truly “To Finish Is To Win”! Josh and Trevor, well done! Congratulations on being the 2022 Grand Champions!

  • My son, Thad Sketers, sent me to poster advertising next year’s 2023 Great Race!
    I am the widow of Wayne Sketers he passed 21 years ago of cancer. Wayne worked for Johnson Controls Battery Division, for more than 10 years worked every summer from the beginning to end of every ”The Great American Race” as the Battery Director for Johnson Controls. Would be gone sometimes 2-2 1/2 months driving utility trailer/bus with all equipment to help drivers if had questions or needing help with electrical/battery issues getting car’s going. His job with Johnson Controls was Regional Battery traveling from Kansas City KS to Canada all down to Mexico would drive or fly he loved his job‼️
    I live in BaxterSprings, Kansas and looking forward to going to your nearest locations for the “2023” Race!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

• The Latest Stories •

• Thanks to all our Sponsors •